PDA

View Full Version : COP and Refrigeration Capacity Caculation?

Uni
28-10-2008, 03:33 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to RE as well as this field. However, I'm going to do the instrumentation to evaluate the COP & Refrigeration Capacity of a domestic heat pump (3kW cooling/1.5kW heating). Could someone please explain about the instrumentation & data that I need for the calculations?

I'm getting confused as I have to do all the new things in a very short time.

Thanks in advance :)

taz24
28-10-2008, 03:27 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to RE as well as this field. However, I'm going to do the instrumentation to evaluate the COP & Refrigeration Capacity of a domestic heat pump (3kW cooling/1.5kW heating). Could someone please explain about the instrumentation & data that I need for the calculations?

I dont use Wikipedia often but it may answer your questions.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coefficient_of_performance

COP is only a ratio between energy in and energy out.
The higher the energy out for the cost of the energy in = higher COP.

Cheers taz

Brian_UK
28-10-2008, 08:05 PM
Hi all,

Thanks in advance :)I think the COP of this unit will be a negative value ;)

Toosh
28-10-2008, 09:24 PM
Hi all,

Hi Uni have a look at this and try searching GOOGLE its where i got this:eek:
http://www.winfridge.com/HSU-notes.html

regards Norm

Noori
28-10-2008, 11:43 PM
Hi Uni
U can use temperature measurement and pressure gages to Calculate the COP and refrigerant capacity.
Noori

Uni
29-10-2008, 01:47 AM
Thanks for your quick responses.

I am a student learning about instrumentation. I chopped the AC down and installed all the following stuffs:

- Wet&dry bulb thermocouples at Evaporator (Indoor) Air Inlet & Outlet
- Anemometer at the Evaporator
- Pressure transducers + thermocouples to measure all the pressures and temperatures (evap in/out, cond in/out, suction/discharge, compressor shell)
- Data logger & software
- Nothing to measure mass flow rate
:confused: