PDA

View Full Version : Dripping Fridge, now stopped, now not working! HELP please :(

lesliedonnelly
14-10-2008, 10:37 PM
Thank you for reading this message... please let me know if you can help!

Here's my problem: In the refridgerator section, near the light on the ceiling, are 2 "holes". For over a year, water has been gradually dripping... so I put 2 cups to catch the water. When it was full, I dumped out the water (which was always half frozed and half liquid).

As of a few days ago, I noticed that the freezer is EXTRA cold with frost (that's a first!) and the fridge is extra warm. So I think I am blocking the flow from the freezer to the fridge, because those two holes are now frozen like snow (therefore no water is dripping).

I have now unloaded the fridge/freezer, unplugged it, and am letting all defrost. Does anyone, by anychance, have any idea what I am doing or what to do next?!? I am a school teacher, and CANNOT afford a few hundred $ for a new appliance :( Please, help...

paul_h
15-10-2008, 02:21 AM
Drain is iced up. Water dripped into the fridge because everytime the freezer defrosted the water couldn't get into the drain, so it ended up leaking into the fridge.

Defrosting it for 2 days might help, but you may have a faulty drain pan heater or a physical obstruction in the drain that needs to be manually cleared from the inside.
Letting the problem go for so long would have made huge amounts of ice in the fridge duct, could have damaged the damper t/stat too.
Try the 2 day defrost first, but if that doesn't work, it's not going to be an expensive repair, it's a fairly common fault.

lesliedonnelly
21-10-2008, 10:21 PM
I want to thank you, sincerely, for your post. My father took apart the fridge this past weekend, so we will have to see if it continues to work. THANK YOU!!!!!!!

Cyborg-mechanic
22-10-2008, 03:27 AM