PDA

View Full Version : Service Costs

mick5
29-09-2008, 08:37 PM
Hi All,

First ever post so hope you can help. I have been working for myself for 8 years installing and servicing air conditioning systems. I have not changed my prices for a few years now and am not sure what the going rate is for servicing systems.

The reason for asking is I have an old customer who I have installed units for since i started. The stange thing is their old facilities manager had two diffrent companies he used for installing and maintaining sytems to the buildings. I think I have done all the most recent installs there but he has now left and the new facilities guy wants just one company to cover all the servicing and maintence on all the exsisting sytems. I have 8 systems there which i maintain out of the 19 on site.

They now want a quote for a contract to serive the units twice a year. one major service and one minor service. This would be the largest service site i would have and they also need a quote for repalcing 3 of the older systems and installing 5 new ones.

Pricing the new systems is not a problem but not sure how to price the servicing. I will also need to quote a call out and labour rate for breakdowns.

He has indicated that one of the quotes includes four free call outs. The client is near Heathrow airport so its just on the outskirts of london and takes me 20 min to get there. Have never lost an old customer yet and dont wat to loose this one so any advice would be really aprreciated.

He also wants an estimate for changing a high pressure switch on a Daikin split R407C cassette system that I guess has been diagnosed by the other company. Not sure how old that unit is but surprised it might have a high pressure switch.

Many Thanks

Michael

The Viking
29-09-2008, 08:55 PM
1st, let's start with the last problem.