PDA

View Full Version : Compressor Loss

rrayuckac
28-09-2008, 08:42 PM
I am a facility manager at a small research campus. I have had several Copeland compressor failures on the same building system over the past 4 years. The chiller on this building is 40 tons installed in a 45 year old office building and has a well supplied water cooled condenser barrel that goes to recycle for irrigation. The compressor may not be sized exactly the same as it is not original since before my time here. Most of the failures have been burnouts, however the most recent was a mechanical failure with valve and piston damage that sounds to me like slugging. In the case of each failure, if memory serves, they have occurred during spring or fall when temperatures are more mild and the unit may be partially unloaded. My lead mechanic thinks that the problem is related to times when it is running unloaded. He has replaced the compressor and for now, has the set points such that it will run only fully loaded to set point then pump down. I believe he had set the superheat at 10 degrees. I feel like the repeated failures are all related and this cycle of repeated change outs needs to stop. We need to find out the root cause. I asked him to replace the TXV and asked him if installing an accumulator may help. He is worried about oil return if an accumulator is installed. My questions are: Could this be from oil buildup in the evap barrel? Overcharge? Bad TXV? Any pointers would be appreciated. I am not as versed in refrigeration troubleshooting and am open to any good ideas.

Thanks

Gary
28-09-2008, 09:18 PM
Is this a water chiller?

wambat
28-09-2008, 11:04 PM
Low loads can cause refrigerant flow controls to hunt and not control properly. Unloaded operation and resultant low refrigerant velocities will cause oil to pool in a chiller barrel not designed for these flows.