PDA

View Full Version : Air conditioning ceiling cassettes

iceman007
11-02-2004, 10:57 PM
I quite rarely get involved with the installation of ceiling cassettes as I'm a service engineer, and deal with quite a bit of refrigeration as well as air conditioning. The thing that I always seem to take quite a while with is hanging ceiling cassettes. Usually I remove the tiles etc, put the threaded rods in and make a frame from channel before hanging another four rods to hold the cassette, but I'm sure there must be better ways than this as I seem to take quite a while to get the cassette centred. I know this probably sounds a bit trivial but any better ideas would be gratefully received.

BritCit_Juve
11-02-2004, 11:28 PM
Why the intermediate chanel frame and second set of drop rods? Get the manufacturers installation instructions for the spacing requirement ie details of their hanging brackets / fixing requirements and locate the drop rods to suit.

Most cassette units are well balanced so anti vibration shouldn't be a problem unless the rods are extremely long (over a metre). This would be the time to use an intermediate frame just for dampening purposes.

Brian_UK
11-02-2004, 11:29 PM
Iceman, I think you are probably using the normal method; that's the same as the install guys used at my last firm.

I have recently seen a cassette suspended using eye-bolts and crimped wire-cable supports, so I suppose anything is possible as long as it takes the weight.

You might find that the extra time you think you are taking is not actually that long. Your install guys will probably rib you about it because that's what they do ;) After a while I expect that your time will improve, at the moment you daren't make a 'bad job' of it as your service tech. comments about the install are coming back to roost.

iceman007
12-02-2004, 12:06 AM