PDA

View Full Version : Oil Seperator

jwasir
14-09-2008, 05:13 AM
What kind of oil seperator is recomended for ultra low temp application?

Is coalescent better than centrifugal?

icecube51
14-09-2008, 03:10 PM
how low will you go??

Ice

jwasir
15-09-2008, 03:41 PM
Suction will go down to -90F and discharge +95F!

icecube51
17-09-2008, 07:20 PM
i can be wrong ,but in my opinion at those themperatures is better to have centrifugal, law of viscosity....

Ice

Grizzly
18-09-2008, 04:47 PM
i can be wrong ,but in my opinion at those themperatures is better to have centrifugal, law of viscosity....

Ice

Ice.
Please be gentle with me as I am only a Thick Engineer.
But how does a centrifugal oil separator work on a fridge system.
As I have never seen one and am intrigued as to what sort of kit would have one?
Cheers Grizzly

Sturt
18-09-2008, 05:46 PM
Hi Jwasir

I think the helical type is best over impingement for low temperature application.

Selection is crucial to ensure the best gas velocity ensuring the oil seperates by centrifugal force to the out side of the seperator wall and drains down.

Some form of discharge gas temperature regulation is beneficial otherwise the oil will become excessively thin and may carbonise.

Sturt.

icecube51
18-09-2008, 07:46 PM
sorry grizzly, only had it from hearing. a technician that works in a factory were they use NH³ in very low temperatures,told me they had problems whit the old oil separator and they now switch to centrifugal and they have much better results. i asks him if i could have a look,but they don't allow strangers. security reasons. so don't shoot me if the info is not correct. it seems logic to me.
there are so many possibility's, we can not now them all.

Ice

US Iceman
18-09-2008, 07:58 PM