PDA

View Full Version : Need help choosing an American style fridge/freezer

mclovin
10-09-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi, im new to RE but im looking to buy a new american style fridge for my new flat. I've had a tiny hotpoint fridge up until now which has been ok but im not sure about which american style brand to go for, that and I dont trust the snake oil sales people in comet.

So far i've got it down to the Hotpoint MSZ802 , the Samsung RSA1DHMH and the Whirlpool 20RUD4. Which one am I less likely to have troubles with or is there a brand I should avoid?

taz24
10-09-2008, 02:02 PM
Hi, im new to RE but im looking to buy a new american style fridge for my new flat. I've had a tiny hotpoint fridge up until now which has been ok but im not sure about which american style brand to go for, that and I dont trust the snake oil sales people in comet.

So far i've got it down to the Hotpoint MSZ802 , the Samsung RSA1DHMH and the Whirlpool 20RUD4. Which one am I less likely to have troubles with or is there a brand I should avoid?

Fridges and freezers are like any other product you can buy today.
I do not know of any disadvantage or advantage that one has over the other.
The more bells and whistles that somthing has incorporaated into it then the more there is to go wrong.

The electronics will more often than not let you down first.
They will be designed and built to last at least 5 or 6 years so if one fails earlier than that it is down to the luck of the draw.

I would advise you to go as simple as possible but if you insist on haveing an American type fridge go for the one that looks good in your kitchen and is the cheapest price.

Cheers taz.

platinumfreeze
10-09-2008, 05:53 PM
It doesn't really matter what brand you buy anymore. They're all made by the same company anyway. I've seen LG refrigerators with the Maytag, KitchenAid, GE, and Whirlpool name on them.

Ernie

Rhew
10-09-2008, 09:35 PM