PDA

View Full Version : R22 system legality

johno12345
02-08-2008, 02:26 PM
Hi,

I am not an engineer, just work in facilities. We have 26 air conditioners on site, most are R410A, a couple of R407C systems, some R69L / R23 two stage chillers and some R404A /
R23 two stage chillers.

We also have the ISO 14001 thing and I am getting confused comments from auditors regarding these systems. Some say that the R22 is illegal in new systems, some say it must be removed before 2010 and I am just getting more confused! :)

The R22 is used in a carrier 50YQ048 system, a Lennox 12Kw unit and a IMI Hi/Lo 80. I have been led to believe that the R22 systems can be retrofitted with an alternative refrigerant but is it worthwhile? Or, are they fine to leave indefinately as they are existing systems?

any advice would be appriciated :)

Thanks!

nevgee
02-08-2008, 02:42 PM
Try starting at these two links and follow the trail
http://www.acrib.org.uk/web_images/documents/legislation_updates/REFRIGERANT%20DATES.pdf

http://www.defra.gov.uk/environment/air-atmos/fgas/pdf/fgas-support-leaflet.pdf

good luck :D

Argus
02-08-2008, 04:42 PM

You have a mix of gases there and no mistake.

The laws concerning the legality of refrigerants and the laws concerning your obligations as an operator are complex and some very new.

Next, you are getting conflicting advice. What is legal you have to do – no choice; what is desirable to comply with ISO 14000 is another – that is voluntary, unless of course you have a contractual obligation. Nonetheless, a standard is not a law.

R69L is a trade name for R403B - a refrigerant mixture containing R22, so you must consider it with all the other plant containing R22. R23 is an Hydrofluorocarbon (HFC) and is covered by other legislation that you must consider, as are the other refrigerants that you mention.