PDA

View Full Version : Change my heat pump to water source

tinkerer
29-07-2008, 02:17 AM
Hello, this is my first post. I'm no pro, just a guy that kept ACs going. What I would like to do is to cut into my outside condenser coil and run tubing into the house to a water source condenser and then back outside so I can have a geothermal setup. I'm retired on a fixed income and would need to make my own condenser from tubing inside tubing. Here in Nebraska the extremes are -25 to +105 f. I already have a well and also a small pond to dump to. The heat pump is a 3 ton unit. Is it worth it and feasible?

yangchenchen
30-07-2008, 09:41 AM
I am an geothermal heat pump unit disign engineer, to my experience ,it is feasible.

taz24
30-07-2008, 01:19 PM
Hello, this is my first post. I'm no pro, just a guy that kept ACs going. What I would like to do is to cut into my outside condenser coil and run tubing into the house to a water source condenser and then back outside so I can have a geothermal setup. I'm retired on a fixed income and would need to make my own condenser from tubing inside tubing. Here in Nebraska the extremes are -25 to +105 f. I already have a well and also a small pond to dump to. The heat pump is a 3 ton unit. Is it worth it and feasible?

Yes you will be able to do it.
Think about filtering this supply water.
A pipe within a pipe would do the job you might need to experiment with the size to start with.
I would fit service valves into the system to ease any future work that you may need to do.

If you use 1/2 inch inside 7/8 or 5/8 inch what you need to do is thread the 1/2 inch inside the larger all the way and braze in the fittings for the water to one end only, while the pipes are still straight.