PDA

View Full Version : Kenmore/Amana refrigerator not cooling

Ohm&Hammer
20-07-2008, 06:01 AM
Greetings all, and thanks for looking at this!

I'm a certified automotive AC tech, but stopped just before R134 came on the scene, so all my experience is with R12 systems.

I just picked up a Kenmore bottom freezer refrigerator from my wifes relatives. It is 9 years old and had stopped freezing, so they moved it into the garage and kept beer and soft drinks in it. Anyway they decided they needed the room so now I have it.

When I picked it up, the condenser coils were completely fuzzed in, as you can imagine so I cleaned them all off with compressed air. I was hoping that would fix it but unfortunately not. Here is what I have found:

Kenmore model # 596.77272790 manuf sept/98

Freezer compartment cools to about 45F, fridge cools to about 52F (7C & 11C).

Compressor Hi side temp is 110F (43C) and low side seems to measure 80F (27C) Fan runs just fine, and no trace of frost or ice anywhere.

No service port has been added, and inspection underneath does not show any oil seepage that signifies a slight leak.

Other than the huge amount of lint on the condenser the unit is remarkably clean.

Now, I need to confess that I am a babe in the woods when it comes to this type of refrigeration so I hope someone can get me pointed in the right direction.

To my pea-brain, I see 3 options-

1) Bad compressor (Possibly damaged due to increased pressures from operating for so long with a filthy coil.)

2) Low refrigerant ( haven't measured pressures but temps might indicate this, except it is a sealed system and no leaks apparent)

3) Something else I haven't thought of!(thinking obscure electrical gremlin, or capillary issue)

Anyway, all learned opinions will be appreciated and when responding don't worry about insulting my intelligence!