PDA

View Full Version : Diy ice cream machine !

text
17-06-2008, 04:27 PM
Hi, First post and straight in for the kill !
I am a motor vehicle mechanic that likes to learn how things work and design my own personal use items. Although I know refridgerant gases are not to be played with, I am still interested in learning and possibly designing a personal use soft ice cream machine that actually works. My limited knowledge is that a mixture is inserted into a hopper this is then transfered somehow into a freezing cylinder where it is chilled and there is a rotating paddle to scrap the mixture off the wall to prevent it from freezing solid and at the same time it is beaten by another set of paddles that are also attached to the rotating shaft.
I think the beating blades are to introduce air into the mixture? Then somehow the semi frozen mixture is forced out through a star shaped nozzle. Please confirm this description and also add any areas that i have missed out. Are there any good sites for this ?
Do you think its possible to build using a old domestic freezer? Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks Text

The Viking
17-06-2008, 04:58 PM
It would be much cheaper to buy one...

philfridge
17-06-2008, 06:56 PM
:off topic: I would not attempt this so my advice to you is dont bother as you need to be suitably trained to handle /use buy refrigerant which is a legal requirement.

brian_chapin
18-06-2008, 11:58 AM
I think an old (or new) freezer for that matter would be underpowered for the task at hand.

I oversee three ice cream freezers - this really isn't a hobby level difficulty if you are going to be using a phase-change refrigerant.

There are plenty of ice/salt mixture home freezers out there to make the occasional family size batch.

text
19-06-2008, 08:25 AM
Thanks for the replies guys, but if anyone can fill in the process blanks that would be great. Even if I do not proceed with the project, the knowledge would be a great thing to have !