PDA

View Full Version : Help, advice needed.

josewick
28-10-2003, 10:10 AM
I am no expert here so I need someof your expertise advice.!!

I have a double door Williams Fridge 7 years old which was previously owned by an established company who checked all electrical appliance annually. So, I can say the fridge was well looked after.

All of the sudden it has packed up, I heard a pop and saw a spark at the back of the compressor. So I opened the case and had a good looked and find that the overload was "overloaded and burnt", Replced it and other burnt wires as well. It doesn't want to fire up. It clicks every 20 seconds but the compressor doesn't want to fire up. Electric is ok as far as I am concerned. I put a multimeter across the capacitor (hope it was that problem) and it reads 100 micro farads which says 64 on the case. I presume that doesn't make much difference but I am not sure on where ot start. I had one engineer round who suggested a new compressor but I don't know if he is just trying to sell me a new one.

Help, much appreciated if you guys can advise.

regards

Joe

rbartlett
28-10-2003, 01:41 PM
if it's the correct relay and wired correctly then it's a stiff compressor for sure..probably seized.

cheers

richard

josewick
28-10-2003, 02:46 PM
i haven't changed any other items apart from that so called "compressor overload" gadget and looks same as the blown one.

I can see that working and trying to get the compressor going, but compressor doesn't want to work..

Is there anyway I can check it is really the compressor thats faulty??

regards

rbartlett
28-10-2003, 04:03 PM
things that will prevent a compressor from starting

relay faulty
capacitor faulty

depending upon the compressor -the overload will be a small round unit with a blackwire coming out of the top next to a spade connector -this is called a klixon

the wire goes to the compressor on the top round pin.

the relay fits below onto the bottom two