PDA

View Full Version : Bus Ac

alireza
02-10-2003, 08:03 AM
After, "Refrigerant Liquid returning to Compressor "
Lack of Oil is the second prevalent failure of the compressors in Bus A/C system.
Simply because I do not see using of Oil safty switch in Auto A/C units [At least in all the systems that I have seen till today in my country].

I know it is a requirement of the compressors but I understand the limitations that do not let the system designers to us an OPS in their control circuits. Such as compressor working in the minimum RPM, which cases to dropping of the Oil pump's discharge pressure.

Have you thought about it ?

Latte
02-10-2003, 08:26 PM
Hello Alireza,
I am lucky that i know a little about both sides of your'e job as i am now employed as a refrigeration engineer, but before that i was a coach driver for 5 years. I dont know where you fit the a/c condersors on the Volvo's over there but over here on the B10M's they were fitted in the 2nd luggage compartment which i think is a stupid place to put them. I must admit i think the sutrak systems on the roof stand a better chance fo getting airflow.
Do you have any high temp probs on the Volvo's if they are ounted underneath.

alireza
03-10-2003, 05:32 AM
Hi rdocwra,
That's grate that you were a coach driver before being Ref. Eng.
Roof Top Bus A/C systems are developed very much in my country
more than rear mounted or underneath mounted systems.
I have not seen AC unit of B10M and I don't know if that is equiped with Direct Drive Compressor or if the compressor is driven with an individual engine.

But the Roof Top systems has some problems.
For example long suction and discharge line, in comparison with rear or underneath mounted systems.
the compact mounting of the unit components in the Roof Top model is another problem for technicians.

The Bus Mfg. Company that I work for, have roof top model for Volvo B7R, and Volvo B12,