PDA

View Full Version : Mr Slim Help needed

Bakerbj
29-05-2008, 11:50 PM
Got a call out to a Mr Slim 410a Invertor. Not been working for about a year !!!

It was completely empty of gas, no pressure at all !!!

Pressure tested at 25 bar, in 2 hours it dropped 1 bar, Vac'ed out for 2 hours then charged with 5 kg of gas.

When the unit comes on the fans run then it cuts out when it trys to fire up the compressor. It does this 10 times.

I have 240v on each of the phases, and only 1 Ohm resistance across the windings.

Is there something that will hold the compressor off ?

Sorry but i have never worked on one of these before, any help would be great

Brian_UK
30-05-2008, 12:14 AM
Pressure tested at 25 bar, in 2 hours it dropped 1 bar Well it seems that you haven't found the leak yet then :(

The Viking
30-05-2008, 12:28 AM
Where was the leak?

If it been empty for a year, collecting moisture and creating acid it might well be seized. (it sounds like if it is)

In cases like this a simple vacuum isn't enough, ideally the oil would be changed but as a minimum it should be kept below 200 microns for a day or so with the crankcase heater on and OFN blown through it at regular intervals.

With the modern oils, if it doesn't get done properly the oil will become acidic and you will end up pumping acid around the system.

If it is sized then it's not much you can do but changing compressor and give it a good clean out to get rid of all old oil.

Good luck,

BTW, what fault code did it flag up?

(Brian, you are a faster typist than me but I agree, statements like that makes you wonder)

Bakerbj
30-05-2008, 07:32 AM
I could'nt find the leak via just pressure testing, so I charged it so i could use my leak detector, With the compressor not working I recovered th gas, so not to lose any !!!!

There was not fault code, there are 3 units running off the one controller.