PDA

View Full Version : Low Pressure tripping

Beginner
16-05-2008, 09:47 PM
Hi

Any help would be appreciated, please be patient I'm still learning :eek:

I have a problem with a chilling circuit that trips on low pressure.This is a basic 15 kw R407c system just comp, tev(ext equalised) Condenser and evap. There is a main fan which circulates air over the finned evap coil and another fan which circulates air over the finned condensing coil.( both fans are running ok) there are 2 tranducers for low and high side readings. The unit is tripping on low pressure switch ( set approx 2 bar)and judging by the readings this appears to be correct. The pipework from the tev and distributors to coils is frosted over.I thought maybe we had a leak ( short of gas or tev partially blocked ?)
According to the on site info the system charge is 6kg r407c.I recovered the gas into a recovery cylinder which weighs in at 5kg....would that cause the prob?
Appologies for the grammer and spelling , any further info ( what bit I know ) will gladly be made available.System running readings were :-

low side = around 2 bar but trips
hight side = around 9 bar.
Room temp = 28 c
outside temp = 16

Hope I've made sense

Thanks

nike123
17-05-2008, 12:38 AM
According to the on site info the system charge is 6kg r407c.I recovered the gas into a recovery cylinder which weighs in at 5kg....would that cause the prob?

Thanks

Of course that 17% less refrigerant will cause the problem. More in to that is, that this refrigerant is blend of 3 components with high temperature glide (7K).
Now, not only that you have less refrigerant then required, but you also have unknown composition of components.

Brian_UK
17-05-2008, 12:40 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Your spelling looks OK so don't hide in the corner yet...

Well if you took out 5kg and there should be 6kg it appears that 1kg has escaped.