PDA

View Full Version : Oxy-Acetylene Brazing relacement

mbreward
08-05-2008, 05:18 PM
Hi I'm new to RE

I have been using Oxy Acetylene for all refrigeration brazing repairs and installations

Current factory policy is to phase out all use of acetylene so I am looking for a replacement gas

Oxy-propane has been suggested but i am douptfull that it will heat the larger pipes adecuately

We have all pipe sizes from 1/8" to 1 1/2"

Thank you for your help

The Viking
08-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Well the smaller stuff can be done with Mappgas burners but for proper brazing on anything above ~5/8, you can't beat Oxy/Acetylene.

Chunk
08-05-2008, 07:45 PM
I heard that when Heathrows terminal 5 was being built,they wouldnt allow oxy/acetylene on site.

Someone mentioned before about a gas called apachi from http://www.airproducts.co.uk which is primarily used for cutting but is safer than acetylene and you get more heat than propane.

You cant beat acetylene,but if you cant use it,theres always something else.

monkey spanners
08-05-2008, 09:48 PM
Rpw sell a oxy mapp gas set which may be worth a look. uses a small refillable oxy bottle with disposable mapp gas.

Jon

Andy AC
08-05-2008, 10:41 PM
Never had a problem with oxy-propane, does up to 1-1/8 no problem with a decent nozzle. Have you tried the pepperpot nozzles? - worth a try on the bigger pipes. The kit I use all the time is a modified microflame kit running propane and using a rothenbeger roxy torch. Its so much better than the microflame torch, and you don't use as much oxygen as you would using the microflame nozzles.

Andy

taz24
09-05-2008, 12:15 AM
Hi I'm new to RE

I have been using Oxy Acetylene for all refrigeration brazing repairs and installations

Current factory policy is to phase out all use of acetylene so I am looking for a replacement gas

Oxy-propane has been suggested but i am douptfull that it will heat the larger pipes adecuately

We have all pipe sizes from 1/8" to 1 1/2"

Thank you for your help