PDA

View Full Version : to use or not use p-traps?

chilltech
27-04-2008, 08:41 AM
hi guys i am installing a roof mounted condensing unit 4 metres above a coldroom with dual evaporators using r404 refrigerant.unit is supplied with an oil seperator installed.the design engineer at the manufacturing company has asked us to install a p trap on both the liquid and suction lines at the base of the 4 metre rise up to the condensing unit,just before the pipe runs split to feed the 2 evaporators.i am not an engineer just a good old fridgy so i would like to know if this is the best way to install this system as normally we would only use a p trap on the suction line.also if this is the best method could you explain the reasoning behind it as i like to understand why we do the things we do.:)

750 Valve
27-04-2008, 08:58 AM
um, ah, you might want to point out to the "engineer" that liquid flows from the condensing unit TO the evaps... thats 4m downhill, gravity is your friend in this case and no traps in liquid line are necessary.... actually traps are not needed in any liquid lines, all they do is provide additional pressure drop, even if the liquid was to rise 4m the only design condiseration is in the pressure difference created by that 4m rise in relation to gravity (pressure = density x gravity x height). The only reason you need traps in the suction lines is to allow the oil to pool and pretty much "hydraulic" its way up the riser with velocity in the line, discharge lines also need riser traps if they are a big rise but they have a greater velocity so you do not always see them as its easier to move that oil along, but as the oil is miscible with the refrigerant it is not required at all with liquid lines

SteinarN
27-04-2008, 10:22 AM
I have never understod the reason to use p-traps. I have never installed one myself, and if I'm to do some piping work on an existing system, I always remove any which might happen to be there.