PDA

View Full Version : GET Dehumidifier- burnt component on compressor

Sharpen
19-04-2008, 11:48 AM
I have a GET DHMD10/2 home dehumidifier. I has had a lot of use and has run permanently for approx 3years no problems.
Recently it was unplugged for a couple of days and when it was plugged back in again it didn't work, so no fan and no compressor. I am an elecronic engineer so took apart to find that the fan was just jammed with all the dust in there- that was very easy to sort out. The compressor however is not working because of a burnt out component which sits on the side of the compressor in line with the live input. Taken it appart and it looks like a themal cutout as it has a resistive coil winding over which there is a bimetal type cutout. 2 questions:
1. is it safe to bypass this device (I think I already know the answer - NO)
2. are these available as spare parts- if so where would be best to look?

It seems a great shame to scrap the whole thing just for somthing so simple.

Lowrider
19-04-2008, 12:47 PM
You could see what hapens if you take it out and let the compressor run. Be sure to have your amp-meter on it and watch how much amps it draws.

What type of compressor is in there?

nike123
19-04-2008, 01:15 PM
Could you make photo of that part and send here link?

dhananjaylagwan
19-04-2008, 02:08 PM
it might be a relay or something. But still bypassing wont be a safer option.

Can you provide some additional details?

The Viking
19-04-2008, 02:22 PM
Cylindrical thingie with one terminal where the wire from the controls is connected and a lead going to the compressor terminal?

If so, its a "clickson / klickson" [spelling?]...

I would try and bypass it for a short moment with an clamp on Amp meeter on the cable, just to make sure that the compressor itself is working.

Then, HRP/Dean&Woods/Control Center all should be able to sell you a replacement clickson.

Good Luck.

Chunk
19-04-2008, 04:00 PM
Hi Sharpen