PDA

View Full Version : creating switching circuit

FEISTY
18-04-2008, 04:11 AM
I am installing similiar equipment to replace outdated condensers. Need help designing simple yet HIGHLY reliable [ ?? ] switching control that will sense failure of temp. in walk-in cooler and start-up identical sister condenser to maintain temp. Using single evap coil and short distance rooftop located condensers. Failed unit to be cycle-off isolated so it wouldn't search and re-try start-up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and have a great day !! jeffrey5151

daddyfixit
18-04-2008, 06:23 AM
Hello jeffrey5151..

I'm no expert in controls, but there are expensive digital/programmable controls that have an extra relay for an "alarm" ckt. This could be used to trigger a lock-out relay for the first and start-up relay for the second...
Just a thought..:)

I googled "refrigeration safety controls" and found an example....

eTRON M100
Compact Refrigeration Case & Coldroom Controller

I can't post the URL because of my new member status. I'm sure you can find other examples too..

Yes, what you want can be done. There are controls that will do it. But it may cost $$$. :( However, would it cost as much as product spoilage due to a failure? I like redundancy when needed. Enough $ on the line and you might want and need it.

Wish you the best...

nike123
18-04-2008, 10:06 AM
Any automation engineer cold do that with few relays and simple thermostats. Similar is described in this thread:
http://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11685&highlight=relays

750 Valve
18-04-2008, 11:16 AM
yep not very hard at all, you could even add in a change over relay that would switch between units weekly or monthly so as to ensure they are always operating rather than just sitting idle on stanby. It can be done with mechanical t'stats as far as the high temp cut in (alarm) and wiring if you want to steer clear of electronics

FEISTY
20-04-2008, 03:48 AM