PDA

View Full Version : oil amount in mobile refrigeration system

freezingfan
14-04-2008, 06:51 AM
Dear techs:

I have some background in commercial refrigeration systems as well as in domestic automotive air conditioning, but when it comes to tranpsort refrigeration I´m still in diapers.
I´ve been required to perform a compressor replacement job in a Thermo King CB max unit. The unit has both a engine-driven compressor as well as a electrically driven stand-by compressor. As I´m getting ready to pull out the old engine-driven compressor, two questions come to my mind: 1) why should the existing SELTEC TM-15 compressor be replaced with a TM-16 (as suggested by our senior technician), and 2) in regards to the oil amount required by this system, what should be the proper amount of oil for such dual-compressor/long hose system? We have no TK maintenace manual in our shop reference library, but I can figure out the oil required by each compressor from the compressor manufacturer´s data. Is this information of any use?. Thank you in advance for any helpful hints.

absolute-zero
14-04-2008, 03:50 PM
Dear techs:

I have some background in commercial refrigeration systems as well as in domestic automotive air conditioning, but when it comes to transport refrigeration I´m still in diapers.