PDA

View Full Version : R22 vs R407C.....................again!!

Abe
22-07-2003, 10:40 PM
I installed 2 LG Wall mounts, one a 5kw heat pump and one a 7Kw Wall mount, both at the same place, well sort of.

The 5kw runs on R22 and the 7Kw runs on R407C

The 5 Kw has a pipe run of 5 Metres, the 7Kw has a run of 10 Metres.

The air off temp of the R22 unit reads 5.6 Celcius. The R407C system reads 11 to 12.6 Celcius.

I had my suspicions about 407C being a dastardly gas, are my fears confirmed??

More sinister, once again we the guys at the deep end are being bullied, steam rollered into accepting what is being thrown at us by the manufacturers.

Do we have a say, or a voice. Do the manufacturers, law and legislatures, scientests care about our industry ?

Tell me that R407C is a SUPERIOR gas, and I will back down. Im not an expert or academic with a Masters degree in Chemistry or the ability to measure this darn hole in the sky.

But, I can measure the air off temperature on an air conditioner with my digital probe. And thats enough for me.

Maybe, perhaps I doth protest too much

Prof Sporlan
22-07-2003, 11:08 PM
Aiyub, keep in mind that R-407C is 52 percent "dastardly evil" R134a by weight :D :D :D

Gary
23-07-2003, 12:03 AM
The air off temp, by itself, doesn't really tell you much. It can be reduced by simply reducing the airflow.

Possibly we could say that for the same CFM per ton, given the same air on temp and humidity, the comparison would be valid, but then we would also need the same SCT, as well as the same subcooling and superheat.

frank
23-07-2003, 07:22 PM
Ayb