PDA

View Full Version : careers in ammonia

Oregon Jim
29-03-2008, 05:30 PM
I was just wondering what everyone on the NH3 forum actually does. Do you design ammonia systems, repair the equipment, operate the systems? Do you work on ammonia systems exclusively, or do you work with other refrigerants as well? Tell me about yourself...

As for me, I have been an ammonia refrigeration operator for a bit more than twenty years, employed by a company that freezes hundreds of millions of pounds of food each year. I supervise, operate and repair air blast freezers, a plate freezer, scraped-surface heat exchangers, chill rooms and use both single stage and two stage refrigeration.

I am eager to know more about all of you!

brian_chapin
31-03-2008, 12:33 PM
I work in OSHA PSM and EPA RMP compliance for three ammonia systems for a grocery chain: A dairy, an ice cream plant and a meat cutting facility.

They aren't particularly large systems (between 10,500 and 17,000 pounds NH3 each) but they all have reams of compliance paperwork associated with them.

I didn't know a single thing about refrigeration when I took the position so I took the RETA industrial refrigeration courses to get up to speed. It is amazing how much you can learn in two years. In writing the SOPs I had to write a TOS (basically - what does this equipment do, how and why does it do it) for every component in the system and although it was a challenge it made me know the systems as well as anyone else can. I have guys who worked with the system for 10 years asking me how something works now.

One thing that is nice is that with three facilities I get to work with a large range of equipment. Just in compressors we have M&M, Frick, FES and Vilter.

nh3wizard
31-03-2008, 01:34 PM