PDA

View Full Version : Warehouse frost heave protection

samiam
21-03-2008, 02:56 PM
I am considering the following options for a warehouse floor to prevent problems associated with frost heave: So far I have used:

a) Electric heater mat.

b) warm glycol pipes.

c) Natural and forced ventilation.

I have used the electric mat and glycol heater pipes before, but not the forced ventilation.

What are you experiences/comments on the forced and natural ventilation methods?

Thanks

Grizzly
21-03-2008, 08:46 PM
I am considering the following options for a warehouse floor to prevent problems associated with frost heave: So far I have used:

a) Electric heater mat.

b) warm glycol pipes.

c) Natural and forced ventilation.

I have used the electric mat and glycol heater pipes before, but not the forced ventilation.

What are you experiences/comments on the forced and natural ventilation methods?

Thanks

Samiam.

I have many years experience with Cold Stores and like you understand the benefits and pitfalls of both A and B.
If by Natural you mean floors built on dwarf walls.
With 6 inch Concrete slabs on Insulation slabs.

Thereby having a thermal gap under the floor.
Then I understand and this is by far the most common for Large areas.

But I am not sure what "forced ventilation" is can you explain?

Grizzly

smpsmp45
23-03-2008, 05:10 AM
We generally use Forced Ventilation by embedding the pipes below the Flooring.

If you are interested I can send you a sketch as to how we do it.

Electrical mats is expensive proposal though we use that only for Blast freezers for -40 deg C.

We have used elevated floor in few cases, but again that also is expensive.

Kh1971
23-03-2008, 09:40 AM
HI,

The ventlation should be done before doing the cold store it self, if you are interesed send me a mail and I well send you the drawing how you can make the ventaltion for the flooring *** note that it is very good way and Iam using it here.

Khalid

US Iceman
23-03-2008, 06:42 PM