PDA

View Full Version : Oil Accumulation

ozankalkan
20-03-2008, 01:00 PM
hi everyone!
i'm very new in refrigeration and sometimes some big problems. this one is one of them:) well, i hope i could get my solution here.

during the refrigeration cycle, some oil of the compressor flows with the refrigerant.while it is flowing into evaporator from capillary tube, oil accumulation happens in the entry of the evaporator. i wonder how can i prevent the evaporator from oil accumulation.

i'm sorry for terminology :)
thanks.

nike123
20-03-2008, 02:23 PM
hi everyone!
i'm very new in refrigeration and sometimes some big problems. this one is one of them:) well, i hope i could get my solution here.

during the refrigeration cycle, some oil of the compressor flows with the refrigerant.while it is flowing into evaporator from capillary tube, oil accumulation happens in the entry of the evaporator. i wonder how can i prevent the evaporator from oil accumulation.

i'm sorry for terminology :)
thanks.
Hi, ozankalkan. Welcome to RE.

By carefully designing system and maybe using oil separator.

Describe little more your problem and system layout.

paul_h
20-03-2008, 02:34 PM
question:
Is the compressor and evaporator on the same level?
Problems normally occur on poorly designed systems or if the evap is below the compressor.
Refrigeration engineers solve this through careful design, the rest of us use oil separators! :)

powell
20-03-2008, 03:03 PM
Until you give us more information as nike has suggested, Let's assume this is a freezer.

Take a look at the defrost operation of this unit to verify all is working well. I always like to see a minimum of 4 defrost cycles in a 24 hour period.

Proper defrost cycles are very important in low temperature applications. Excess frost restricts the airflow and reduces coil loading. This can cause oil to be trapped in the evap possibly causing floodback to the compressor.

Gary
20-03-2008, 03:07 PM