PDA

View Full Version : Vapour Pressure

Stev
14-03-2008, 10:40 PM
I am a first year electrical apprentice and I am having trouble getting the refrigeration mechanics I work with to explain something to me. I thought I remembered my science lessons from 30 years ago fairly well so I asked the following.

In a standing system (where there pressure has been able to equalise throughout) for a given refrigerant you could say the following.

(a) if the pressure is below the vapour pressure for that gas and temperature, there is no liquid refrigerant remaining in the system. (This is assuming no contaminants)
(b) if the pressure is at vapour pressure, there is liquid refrigerant in the system but how much can not be known just from this information.
(c) the pressure can not be above the vapour pressure unless the system has been pumped full of liquid refrigerant or there are contanimants with a higher vapour pressure.

I am being told that refrigerants don't work this way but no one can explain why.

SteinarN
14-03-2008, 10:55 PM
I am a first year electrical apprentice and I am having trouble getting the refrigeration mechanics I work with to explain something to me. I thought I remembered my science lessons from 30 years ago fairly well so I asked the following.

In a standing system (where there pressure has been able to equalise throughout) for a given refrigerant you could say the following.

(a) if the pressure is below the vapour pressure for that gas and temperature, there is no liquid refrigerant remaining in the system. (This is assuming no contaminants)
(b) if the pressure is at vapour pressure, there is liquid refrigerant in the system but how much can not be known just from this information.
(c) the pressure can not be above the vapour pressure unless the system has been pumped full of liquid refrigerant or there are contanimants with a higher vapour pressure.

I am being told that refrigerants don't work this way but no one can explain why.