PDA

View Full Version : Leibherr F/F neither work

Johnnyx
18-02-2008, 10:43 AM
New to all this as my F/F just packed up and has defrosted everything! Light comes on inside, so powers ok but no matter what setting you put the temp control on the compressor does not turn on.

Any ideas of where to start looking??? I am an electronics engineer so some diagnostic checks could be carried out easily but havn't got a clue about refridgeration and how it works.

Thanks in advance.

nike123
18-02-2008, 10:46 AM
Is it with 1 or 2 compressor?

Johnnyx
18-02-2008, 11:27 AM
Is it with 1 or 2 compressor?

It has one compressor.

nike123
18-02-2008, 12:05 PM
Now, when we sorted that, we could start troubleshoot.
This is electrical problem, and we need to go upstream from compressor. First, you need to establish that compressor have voltage on his terminals. You have multimeter? Measure voltage at terminals of cable who goes toward compressor. It usualy have 3 wires (brown, blue, green-yellow) measure between blue and brown (black)
Be careful, this voltage kills! If you are not self confident, abort!

Johnnyx
18-02-2008, 12:22 PM
Now, when we sorted that, we could start troubleshoot.
This is electrical problem, and we need to go upstream from compressor. First, you need to establish that compressor have voltage on his terminals. You have multimeter? Measure voltage at terminals of cable who goes toward compressor. It usualy have 3 wires (brown, blue, green-yellow) measure between blue and brown (black)
Be careful, this voltage kills! If you are not self confident, abort!

No problem can do that but not until I get home from work. I take it the compressor power is controlled from the temp controller (thermistor) inside the fridge via a relay. If so is the relay inside the fridge somewhere or is this an integral part of the compressor assembly?

If you could give some idea of how the circuit/system works that would be a huge help.

Many thanks so far.

nike123
18-02-2008, 12:42 PM