PDA

View Full Version : Procedure for changing compressor (134a) please

Egan Technical
08-02-2008, 02:01 AM
Hi, I'm new to RE. it's great.
I looking for a step by step procedure for replacing a compressor on a standard 134a FF. Any web sites, references or best of all, experience based info. Any good tips/ suggestions - Thanks

chillin out
08-02-2008, 02:13 AM
Why do you want to know?

Are you DIY and going to learn, or are you trying to train yourself to become a fridgy?

Chillin:):)

Egan Technical
09-02-2008, 02:16 AM
Hi Chillin,
I have a technical services business here in good old Ireland. I service most technical things including fridges. I am a qualified engineer, and I have also completed a C&G refrigeration cert in the UK. While I have a fairly good understanding on the basics, and I often recharge domestic fridges and small commercial units, I have never actually changed a compressor. I would like to improve my technical competence. Best regards

Brian_UK
09-02-2008, 02:27 AM
OK, so you'll need..

Recovery machine
Recovery cyclinder
OFN
Brazing kit
Vacuum pump and gauge.

Recover refrigerant from FF, sample oil to establish contamination level assuming that the compressor has failed.

Remove compressor.

Be prepared to replace the filter/drier and possibly the capillary lines as they might be blocked.

Check electrical components serving the compressor, may need new start relay and capacitors.

Install new compressor, pressure test, evacuate and recharge.

Now also consider the cost involved against the cost of a new replacement FF with it's own new warranty.

Are you prepared to warranty the repair considering what crap could be inside the system after a compressor failure?

taz24
09-02-2008, 01:20 PM
OK, so you'll need..

Recovery machine
Recovery cyclinder
OFN
Brazing kit
Vacuum pump and gauge.

Recover refrigerant from FF, sample oil to establish contamination level assuming that the compressor has failed.

Remove compressor.