PDA

View Full Version : Condenser Length Problem

tanveerkuet
27-01-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi everyone.I am an engineering student in bangladesh doing an undergraduate thesis.My thesis topics is to construct a refrigerator based on the principle of vapor compression refrigeration system.I have calculated the total cooling load.But i cannot figure it out how to calculate the length of the condenser and evaporator length based on the cooling load.Please some one help me.My designed compressor is .2 hp.Using capillary tube as expansion device and using R-12 refrigerant.

tonyhavcr
27-01-2008, 04:18 PM
R-12 refrigerant! wow thats a lot of money to wast.

I think you need to ask Gary this Author of TECH Method Troubleshooting books.

Brian_UK
28-01-2008, 12:45 AM
Hey Tony, remember he is only doing a thesis not actually constructing a machine.

A lot of text books always have an R12 data sheet.

nike123
28-01-2008, 01:01 AM
Hi everyone.I am an engineering student in bangladesh doing an undergraduate thesis.My thesis topics is to construct a refrigerator based on the principle of vapor compression refrigeration system.I have calculated the total cooling load.But i cannot figure it out how to calculate the length of the condenser and evaporator length based on the cooling load.Please some one help me.My designed compressor is .2 hp.Using capillary tube as expansion device and using R-12 refrigerant.

Why you said lenght? Did you mean capacity?

mohamed khamis
28-01-2008, 03:33 AM
In order to size any heat exchanger u fristly u need to know under what catogary the HE is calssified/. Anyhow there are five equations derived form mass/energy conservations are used to calculate the condenser/evaportor size.

1- Q = U A LMTD

2- Q = m CP DT for a hot side

3- Q = m CP DT for a cold side

4- m = density * Ac * veocity for hot side

5- m = density * Ac * veocity for a cold side

AC = area cross section

DT = temperture differnce

LMTD = log.mean temperture differnence