PDA

View Full Version : OverClockers, any new ideas/technology to share?

interDOS
19-01-2008, 07:08 PM
Most of the threads in this section are well old, and given the speed and volume of new technology in the IT world, I wondering if I've missed anything in regards to cooling technology.

:)

The MG Pony
19-01-2008, 09:31 PM
Cascades are becoming populer for heavy OCing and benching

AutoCascades are geting stronger for the 24/7 ussage and for heavy OCing, average temp is -100C for both type systems

For a standerd single stage average temps are -40 to -50C at 300 to 150Ws

Liquid chillers are as usualy populer add on to a water cooling loop with the temps ranging from just 10c lowe then ambient to -30C

Other then that surf the net mate get tons of stuff

scrapen
24-06-2008, 04:36 AM
I'm no professional, but i do know some cases where Stirling coolers are making a run trying to replace cascade systems.

An example in development currently is a portable cooler box with about 25L of volume capable of cooling to -92C using a 100W model FPSC (free-piston stirling cooler), designed to replace a small cascade system. (it can also be plugged into a car outlet for a few days w/out draining the battery)

There have been recent successful military electronics cooling applications as well. I'm not sure about one application (secret military stuff) but a stirling cooling system was used to cool electronics operating at 250-300C, where some kind of messy liquid cooling was being used before. (apparently the military was skeptical on that one as they said 200C but when successful they said they really needed a design for 300C, also successful.)

I was also told that using a Stirling cooler has the capability to allow a computer processor to operate 5x better.

These are just some examples i've obtained from talking to Global Cooling, a spin-off of Sunpower Inc (inventor of FPSC).

Ferdx
10-11-2008, 05:20 AM