PDA

View Full Version : Zone dampers in ducted system

electronicsuk
10-01-2008, 08:25 PM
Following my previous thread a few months ago regarding the installation of A/C into my new home which is currently fitted with storage heaters, I have now bitten the bullet and decided to make the change.

I have (perhaps foolishly) decided to take on the task of installing the system myself. I've installed a couple of split systems before, but as I've mentioned before, I'm really an electrical engineer and ducted systems are entirely new to me. I'm willing to give anything a go and will put in the time and perspiration to make a good job of this, but I need to do my research beforehand.

I'm interested in zoning the system, but have been unable to find any suppliers in the UK of 200/250/300mm dampers + actuators for round ducting, or at least not any that list prices. Is zoning not common practice in the UK? There seem to be plenty of suppliers in the US and Oz. If anyone could provide me with details of a suitable supplier it would be much appreciated.

Would also be interested in hearing any advice/tips from the professionals that you've gathered with regard to this sort of installation. Upstairs will be via ceiling mounted ducts with the cooling/heating coil in the loft, and downstairs via floor mounted grilles (sigh!) with the coil and ducting in a 3ft void under the floor.

Kind regards

Matthew

The Viking
10-01-2008, 09:57 PM
CCL Lindab Ltd

Unit 3b, Hill Court, Hillbottom Rd, Sands Industrial Estate, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire HP12 4HJ
Tel: 01494 463490

What you want to ask for is Volume Control Dampers. If they can't supply the actuators then Control Center is a good place to look.

Brian_UK
10-01-2008, 10:07 PM
One supplier of ductwork is Hotchkiss...

http://www.hotchkissairsupply.co.uk/prod_HFD.htm

Technical data from CCL Lindab

http://www.ccllindab.co.uk/uploads/documents/Zest_Iris_Duct_Damper.pdf

Also motorised here

http://www.bowcott.com/ces/damper.htm