PDA

View Full Version : TK problems the same worldwide

gravy258
27-12-2007, 02:49 AM
hi all I've been working on mainly TK units in Australia for over three years now. Previosly being a diesel mechanic.
Here are the day to day issues that affect the things here and probably where you are too?

1- X430 / X426 LS + SS compressor back oil pump/bearing housing wearing away causing end float/alloy metallic in oil pump and premature shaft seal failure. This problem seems to spread across the range from old ****ters to SR2 controlled later units. There is talk of a cast/metal housing?

2 - Excessive black sludge accumalation in R404A TX valve screen (off copper pipes) after 10,000 hours, (with no history of compressor failure) Caused by R404a being a 'scrubber' gas? Mainly on high capacity SB units with recip compressor.

3 - MPVI sensor code alarms, due to an internal fault in micro. Anybody know how to repair the micro? Theres a guy here who does it, but charges accordingly.

4 - TS500 throttling valve spring failure at 20,000+ hours. Due to corrosion and snapping of spring.(rubber boot intact)

5 - Spectrum SB hot gas valve failure after 20,000 hours. Causing heating and cooling in demand cool.

6 - Engine oil leaks

the consensus is that Thermo King are designed to consume a lot of parts and a lot of maintenance. Parts are very expensive in comparison to Carrier. Carriers as a whole require only routine maintenance and are very reliable over here.

and for Carrier:

1 - rare 05G head gasket failure
2 - occasional gearbox oil leak

absolute-zero
27-12-2007, 06:57 PM
hi all I've been working on mainly TK units in Australia for over three years now. Previosly being a diesel mechanic.
Here are the day to day issues that affect the things here and probably where you are too?