PDA

View Full Version : The use of CO2 in the Industry

CJG21
07-12-2007, 09:43 PM
Hello everyone,

Im a 2nd year apprentice in Northern Ireland and have heard that although CO2 is used, it is not prevelant in the UK. However, I was told that Tesco have recently installed a Co2 plant in Shrewsbury and somewere in Scotland and it would seem that they will be looking to use it more and more in the future.

I know the basics about C02 systems;
1- its more beneficial to the environment
2- if used as a stand-alone refrigerant it has a massive head-pressure, though if used in a cascade system it isnt much higher than 410A
3- steel pipe must be used above 1-5/8
4- if there is a pressure drop to below 5.6 bar dry ice will form which is very hard to remove

etc...

I am looking to learn more about the use of C02 in the industry and was wondering if anyone could help me with literature about it, or other facts which I should be aware about which will help me when it does become more mainstream.

Thanks in advance everybody

taz24
08-12-2007, 04:51 AM
Hello everyone,

I am looking to learn more about the use of C02 in the industry and was wondering if anyone could help me with literature about it, or other facts which I should be aware about which will help me when it does become more mainstream.

I don't know about you learning more, it would seem that you know more about it than most already:)
I don't know about youasking for info, it would seem you should be shareing your knowledge:)

All the best taz.

750 Valve
08-12-2007, 01:20 PM
Do a search on this site, I have come across heaps of links to papers on co2, some good, some bad, some technical, some in laymans terms. Try looking in the industrial section, there's a section for co2 there.
Bearing in mind that some companies don't like to give up too much info right now about HOW they do it - it gives them a competitive edge on a growing sector that looks to have growing demand.