PDA

View Full Version : Bitzer 4 comp rack, corel controls, blast freezer, HELP

paul_h
29-11-2007, 04:13 PM
Hi, I've been sent to this unit which is a freezer for a seafood place.
First life is just a -20C freezer. It has a 4 compressor bitzer rack, carel master control of the compresors, carel electronic TX valve, carel master celler main thermostat. With the added bonus that if the users press a button it overides the thermostat and goes down to -30C.
The system design works, the reason I was called in was because it didn't actually get to -30C.
Anyway, there was a sizable leak found and repaired, and about 13kg of r507 added.
Now the sightglass is full, the pressure is about 70-80KPa, but it still short cycles on pressure rather than temp setpoint.
I'm a novice at these controllers, but the SP cutout for the corel controller is 50kpa, but it cuts out at 70kpa (not just by my gauges, but by it's own reckoning)
Is there any reason why it's going off when it hasn't reached it's own LP cutout when it's fault is LP too low?
I'm looking for people who have used a similar system (hopefully)
To me a freezer on R507 trying to get to -30 shouldn't trip out on 70kpa LP (-35C for that refrigerant)
Best fix?
Is it to set the LP cutout lower?
let more refrigerant through the electronic TX valve?
Either choice you have, please tell me how :)
edit: no other controls or valves on the evap or suction line, just liquid line solenoid, electronic TX, headers and compressors

Grizzly
29-11-2007, 05:57 PM
Paul.
How is the suction pressure monitored. Is there a pressure transducer linked to the controller and could it be faulty. Also does the control stratagy rely on any temperature probes. 1 of these may be faulty.
Just a thought, it may help cheers Grizzlyhttp://www.refrigeration-engineer.com/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

Peter_1
29-11-2007, 08:34 PM
It must cut off just before atmospheric pressure an on again at an evaporate pressure of – 32°C.